To All the Momma’s Out There

It only seems fitting that the presentation of the NBA’s Most Valuable Player and Mother’s Day fall within the same week. On Tuesday May 3rd, Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls was presented with the MVP award for the 2010-11 regular season. While he thanked his fans, coaches, teammates, and friends, it was apparent that the most influential person in his life and who he felt was responsible for much of his success was his mother, Brenda Rose.

For a brief minute, we caught the glimpse of a very humble, down-to-earth human being who owes so much to his mother (5:01 of the video). Like most athletes, our so-called Supermans, it is the person that raised them that they look up to. And it’s the mothers we should be looking up to today.

I too thank my mother, H.B. for raising me and shaping me into the man that I am today. Thank you for being there when I needed you most, for being my rock when I was down, and for believing in me – even when I doubted myself. But most of all, thank you for being my mom, a mom that I’m proud to call my own. I love you – my true hero, MY Superwoman.

Happy Mother’s Day Tim and Sidizens!

*P.S. Your gift is in the mail – it’s takes some time to get to NL.

Leave a Reply

